Recipe Attempt: Baked Chicken & Veggie Packets

Yet another gem from the Weight Watchers Power Foods Cook Book (P. 108).  This isn’t the actual title of the recipe… I don’t have the cook book with me right now so I will update it when I get home.

Being a clueless cook I am absolutely terrified of cooking chicken.  In fact, a couple weeks ago I tried a panko crusted chicken recipe in the frying pan and it ended in an absolute disaster.  So when I looked over this recipe I was a little bit intimidated but it sounded delicious and I was anxious to try a new technique – baking in foil packets.

I altered the recipe a little bit by using tomatoes, green peppers, and onions instead of tomatoes and zucchini.  I placed one chicken breast in each of the packets and divided the veggies evenly between the 4 of them.  I was a little concerned letting them bake for 35 minutes and not being able to look at them until they were done and the packet was opened.  The result:

This was as amazing in my mouth as it is in the picture.  Even the fiance loved it!

This dish also made great leftovers for work the next day.  Next time I think I will even make a few extras just to bring to work.  I was pretty impressed with this simple dish.  It made me feel like a good cook (for a day).

Leave a Reply

